Pages Navigation Menu

"No matter where you go, there you are."


Check out the winners from the 2023 Manchester Film Festival

The ninth edition of the Manchester Film Festival took place 10-19 March at the Odeon Great Northern, ending on Sunday 19 March with the annual awards ceremony.

The BIFA qualifying festival also celebrates record audience figures in 2023 with over 6,000 public admissions. This is 100% up on last year’s figures and has grown further against pre-pandemic numbers. There were 60 screenings meaning the screen average was just over 100 per screen.

Neil Jeram-Croft, Festival Director said, “We are thrilled to have had such a successful festival in 2023 and we look forward to returning next year. In addition to achieving record breaking public admissions, we were proud to offer a robust industry programme this year with veteran and up-and-coming speakers from the UK film industry.”

Check out our Manchester Film Festival coverage
A number of filmmakers, actors and special guests attended the festival, these included Raine Allen-Miller (dir, RYE LANE), Noddy Holder (Musician), John Thompson (actor), Antonia Thomas (actor, ANACORETA), Matthew Pritchard (actor, THE ROAD OF EXCESS), Leanne Best (actor) and Katie McGlynn (actor).

This year’s edition featured 36 World premieres, 8 International premieres and 50 UK premieres across their features and shorts programme. The festival opened on Friday 10 March with the premiere of Raine Allen-Miller’s highly anticipated RYE LANE and closed on Sunday 19 March with the premiere of Abi Damaris Corbin’s BREAKING.

The big winner at the awards ceremony on Sunday night was British comedy A KIND OF KIDNAPPING, which celebrated its world premiere at the festival by picking up three awards for Best Cinematography, Best Actress for Kelly Wenham and the festivals newly introduced top prize – The Golden Bee.

Other major winners on the night included MEDUSA DELUXE, which took home another new award the Special Jury Prize, LOVE WITHOUT WALLS which won Best UK Feature and ANACORETA which picked up Best International Feature.

Best Director for a feature went to KEITH FARRELL for WAIT FOR ME. Best Documentary Feature went to THE ROAD OF EXCESS and the Audience Award for Feature went to BOLAN’S SHOES.

Full List of Winners:

  • The Golden Bee (Feature) – A Kind of Kidnapping
  • The Golden Bee (Short) – Blood Rites
  • Special Jury Prize (Feature) – Medusa Deluxe
  • Special Jury Prize (Short) – Burn it All
  • Best UK Feature – Love Without Walls
  • Best International Feature – Anacoreta
  • Best Documentary Feature – The Road of Excess
  • Best Director (Feature) – Keith Farrell (Wait for Me)
  • Best Director (Short) – Ethan Thomas Race (Bitter Taste)
  • Best UK Short – Hello, Muscles
  • Best International Short – Tidal
  • Best Documentary Short – Brotherness
  • Staff Pick – Monico Perseus
  • Audience Award (Feature) – Bolan’s Shoes
  • Audience Award Short – Hope You Fail
  • Best Actress (Feature) – Kelly Wenham (A Kind of Kidnapping)
  • Best Actress (Short) – Kelsey Cooke (Little Fantasies)
  • Best Actor (Feature) – Tom Pelphrey (Jill – Life Will Find You)
  • Best Actor (Short) – Ralph Ineson (Waving)
  • North West Short – Smoking Dolphins
  • Best Screenplay (Feature) – A Kind of Kidnapping
  • Best Screenplay (Short) – Rhyme of Die
  • Best Cinematography (Feature) – Snorkeling
  • Best Cinematography (Short) – Maggie
  • Best Animated Short – Laika & Nemo
  • Best Student Film – Subs
  • Best Experimental Short – Steeplechase
  • Best Music Video – Elo Kay – Kevin’s Gold

Previous PostNext Post


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.