Pages Navigation Menu

"No matter where you go, there you are."


Olivia de Havilland has died at the age of 104

Olivia de Havilland, a two-time winner of the Academy Award for Best Actress and legend from the Golden Age of Hollywood has died at the age of 104. She passed away peacefully in her sleep at her home on Saturday.

She appeared in 49 feature films and it was her work with Errol Flynn in adventure films such as Captain Blood (1935) and The Adventures of Robin Hood (1938) that brought her initial fame. She played Melanie Hamilton in Gone with the Wind (1939)and had her first of five Oscar nominations.

She fought a legal battle against Warner Bros. when the studio tried to extend her seven-year contract as a penalty for refusing roles. She eventually won in a landmark ruling that is still known today as the “de Havilland law.”

Her performances in Hold Back the Dawn (1941), To Each His Own (1946), The Snake Pit (1948), and The Heiress (1949) brought her much acclaim and she received nominations for Best Actress for each, winning for To Each His Own and The Heiress.

For her film career, she also won two New York Film Critics Circle Awards, the National Board of Review Award for Best Actress, and the Venice Film Festival Volpi Cup. For her contributions to the motion picture industry, she received a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame.

She continued her work in the theater, appearing three times on Broadway, in Romeo and Juliet (1951), Candida (1952), and A Gift of Time (1962). She starred in various television shows including Roots: The Next Generations (1979), and Anastasia: The Mystery of Anna (1986. For the latter she received a Primetime Emmy Award nomination and won the Golden Globe Award for Best Supporting Actress in a Television Movie or Series.

Next PostPrevious Post


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.