Pages Navigation Menu

"No matter where you go, there you are."

Advert

The Rise of the Synths – John Carpenter narrates new documentary

Facebooktwitterredditpinterestlinkedintumblrmail

Iván Castell’s The Rise of the Synths explores the roots of the now break-out Synthwave scene, charting its humble online and underground beginnings to its impact on today’s pop culture. So what is Synthwave? An irresistible blend of nostalgia and music; of creative processes and cultural references; of re-appropriation and legitimate creation.

Castell has got John Carpenter (The Thing, They Live) to narrate the documentary A great choice as Carpenter has always been a part of the synthwave scene, even before it was called that. If you’ve heard the soundtracks he has put together for his various films you know exactly what I mean. I also got to see Carpenter on his music tour a few years back were he played those soundtracks.

Check out the trailer below.

This new documentary looks great and will be available to watch on May 29th and for 24 hours only, the film will be available to stream alongside a host of other exclusive and interactive events for ticket holders to the online Synthrider Festival.

On May 29th at 7pm CET (1pm ET, 10am PST), the film will be available in Vimeo On Demand for 24 hours. After that, on Saturday, May 30th at 8pm CET, there will be a special interactive Q&A hosted by Vehlinggo and special guests: director Iván Castell, OGRE (UK) and Mecha Maiko (Canada).

Bloody Disgusting also had this clip.

Next PostPrevious Post




Facebooktwitterredditpinterestlinkedintumblrmail

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Amazon Prime Free Trial