Pages Navigation Menu

"No matter where you go, there you are."


Award Winners and Film Sales at TIFF 2015


As the 40th Toronto International Film Festival comes to a close this evening announcements have been made in regards to award winners.

Short Cuts Award for Best Canadian Short Film: Overpass
Short Cuts Award for Best Short Film: Maman(s)
City of Toronto Award for Best Canadian First Feature Film: Sleeping Giant
Canada Goose Award for Best Canadian Feature Film: Closet Monster
Discovery Prize of the International Federation of Film Critics: Eva Nová
Special Presentation Prize of the International Federation of Film Critics: Desierto
NETPAC Award for World or International Asian Film Premiere: The Whispering Star
Toronto Platform Prize: Hurt
Grolsch People’s Choice Award: Room
Grolsch People’s Choice Midnight Madness Award: Hardcore
Grolsch People’s Choice Documentary Award: Winter on Fire: Ukraine’s Fight For Freedom
Dropbox Discovery Programme Filmmakers Award: Black

Check out all of our TIFF 2015 coverage.

Among the 36 films and television shows sold during the festivities were Anomalisa (Paramount), Eye in the Sky (Bleecher Street), Foresaken (Momentum Pictures), Into the Forest (A24), ma ma (Oscilloscope),Mr. Right (Focus), The Program (Momentum), Sunset Song (Magnolia), Neon Bull (Kino Lorber), Land of Mine (Sony Pictures Classics) and Trapped (The Weinstein Company).  The big deal was STX paying $10 million to buy Midnight Madness sci-fi action movie Hardcore.


“It’s been an exciting year for sales with significant deals being made at the Festival. It’s a major draw for the industry and a hub for buyers from around the world,” stated TIFF Artistic Director Cameron Bailey. “Each year the Toronto International Film Festival Industry Office ensures that industry professionals who attend the Festival are provided with the opportunities, tools and information they need to successfully network and further their business, as well as creative goals. It’s a key component that drives the increase in numbers we see year after year.”

5,450 delegates from 80 countries were treated to 53 Industry Conference sessions featuring 213 speakers ranging from Wendy Calhoun, Nuri Bilge Ceylan, Stephen Frears, Asif Kapadia, Jia Zhang-ke, Mike Goodridge, Gigi Pritzker and Nicolas Chartier.

For more information visit


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.