Pages Navigation Menu

"No matter where you go, there you are."


The Criterion Collection is bringing us a 39-Film Ingmar Bergman Box Set


In honour of Ingmar Bergman’s one-hundredth birthday, the Criterion Collection has announced the most comprehensive collection of his films ever released on home video. One of the most revelatory voices to emerge from the postwar explosion of international art-house cinema, Bergman was a master storyteller who startled the world with his stark intensity and naked pursuit of the most profound metaphysical and spiritual questions. The struggles of faith and morality, the nature of dreams, and the agonies and ecstasies of human relationships—Bergman explored these subjects in films ranging from comedies whose lightness and complexity belie their brooding hearts to groundbreaking formal experiments and excruciatingly intimate explorations of family life.

Arranged as a film festival with opening and closing nights bookending double features and centrepieces, this selection spans six decades and thirty-nine films—including such celebrated classics as The Seventh Seal, Persona, and Fanny and Alexander alongside previously unavailable works like Dreams, The Rite, and Brink of Life. Accompanied by a 248-page book with essays on each program, as well as by more than thirty hours of supplemental features, Ingmar Bergman’s Cinema traces themes and images across Bergman’s career, blazing trails through the master’s unequaled body of work for longtime fans and newcomers alike.


Crisis / A Ship to India / Port of Call / Thirst / To Joy / Summer Interlude / Waiting Woman / Summer with Monika / Sawdust and Tinsel / A Lesson in Love / Dreams / Smiles of a Summer Night / The Seventh Seal / Wild Strawberries / Brink of Life / The Magician / The Virgin Spring / The Devil’s Eye / Through a Glass Darkly / Winter Light / Silence / All These Women / Persona / Hour of the Wolf / Shame / The Rite / The Passion of Anna / Fårö Document / The Touch / Cries and Whispers / Scenes from a Marriage / The Magic Flute / The Serpent’s Egg / Autumn Sonata / Fårö Document 1979 / From the Life of the Marionettes / Fanny and Alexander — The Theatrical Version / Fanny and Alexander — The Television Version / After the Rehearsal / Saraband

It will be available from 20th November 2018.

You can pre-order it here.


  • Thirty-nine films, including eighteen never before released by Criterion
  • Digital restorations, including a new 4K restoration of The Seventh Seal and new 2K restorations of Shame, The Touch, Waiting Women, and The Serpent’s Egg, among many others, with uncompressed monaural and stereo soundtracks
  • Introductions to eleven of the films by director Ingmar Bergman
  • Six audio commentaries featuring film scholars Peter Cowie and Birgitta Steene
  • Over five hours of interviews with Bergman
  • Interviews with many of Bergman’s key collaborators, including actors Bibi Andersson, Harriet Andersson, Ingrid Bergman, Erland Josephson, Gunnel Lindblom, Liv Ullmann, and Max von Sydow and cinematographer Sven Nykvist
  • Daniel and Karin’s Face, two rarely seen documentary shorts by Bergman
  • Documentaries about the making of Autumn Sonata, Fanny and Alexander, The Magic Flute, The Serpent’s Egg, The Touch, and Winter Light
  • Extensive programs about Bergman’s life and work, including Bergman Island, . . . But Film Is My Mistress, Laterna Magica, Liv & Ingmar, and others
  • Behind-the-scenes footage, video essays, trailers, stills galleries, and more
  • PLUS: A lavishly illustrated 248-page book, featuring essays on the films by critics, scholars, and authors including Cowie, Alexander Chee, Molly Haskell, Karan Mahajan, Fernanda Solórzano, and many others; selections from Bergman’s own writing and remarks on his work; and detailed guides to the feature films and supplements included in the set

[amazon_link asins=’3836568667,B000WN56EU,0814333605,B073FFSJ8P,1848850468′ template=’ProductCarousel’ store=’tasspa-21′ marketplace=’UK’ link_id=’30c2a3f8-86a8-11e8-b75b-f33fb6cc8ac7′]

Source: Criterion Collection

Next PostPrevious Post


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Amazon Prime Free Trial