Pages Navigation Menu

"No matter where you go, there you are."

Advert

Adam Hamdy’s Pendulum is being adapted for TV

Facebooktwitterredditpinterestlinkedintumblrmail

pendulum-coverPendulum, the crime thriller by author and screenwriter, Adam Hamdy, is being developed for television by NBCUniversal International Studios. Hamdy will work with NBCUniversal International Studios to adapt the novel and serve as executive producer on the show. It will be produced by London production company, Hardy Son & Baker, with whom NBCUniversal International Studios has a first-look deal.

An everyman is targeted for death by a serial killer in this high-concept, searing novel that looks at the way that we now live our lives. A twisting, dangerous journey through a digital underworld, it heralds Adam Hamdy as an outstanding new talent. For fans of I Am Pilgrim and John Grisham.

In a separate development, the US book rights have been acquired by Quercus, which is set to publish Pendulum in North America in June 2017. Pendulum was acquired by Headline as the first in a trilogy of books. Headline will publish Pendulum in the UK, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand in November 2016.

“It was immediately clear to us that Pendulum’s narrative would appeal to audiences internationally given the book is a thrilling, high-concept ride about the nature of our digitally connected society. We are thrilled to have Adam on board to adapt the book and look forward to taking the project to buyers” says Tom Coan, SVP, Scripted Programming at NBCUniversal International Studios.

“Many thrillers are said to grab you by the throat, but Pendulum is the first I’ve seen to literally do just that. Quercus US is delighted to bring this tightly wound, cinematic thriller to North American readers. Protagonist John Wallace may not be the most likable man—he has spent much of his adult life shutting himself off from meaningful human contact—but you can’t take your eyes off him from the second you meet him,” says Nathaniel Marunas, Publisher, Quercus.

“As soon as I started reading Pendulum, I knew that I had to publish it. Adam is incredibly talented and his background as a screenwriter means that his action scenes literally jump off the page. This is a brilliant novel about how we interact with our friends, family and more importantly strangers in this increasingly connected world. It’s a world of infinite possibilities and incredible dangers and Adam explores it with a skill that is both analytical and exciting.” says Vicki Mellor, Deputy Publishing Director, Fiction, Headline.

After adapting David Mitchell’s Booker-nominated novel, Number9Dream, Hamdy signed with Christine Glover of Casarotto and has since been developing original drama series with some of the UK’s leading production companies.

“I’m excited to be bringing Pendulum to the screen for NBCUniversal International Studios, and am working hard to ensure that the adaptation has all the qualities that make the book such a thrilling read,” says Hamdy. “I’m delighted that Quercus is publishing Pendulum in the US. It’s a real privilege to join the ranks of outstanding authors they’ve introduced to American readers.”

Pendulum will be published by Headline in the UK, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand in November 2016, and by Quercus in the United States in June 2017.

Next PostPrevious Post

Facebooktwitterredditpinterestlinkedintumblrmail

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Amazon Prime Free Trial